Kluster was originally a trio that included Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Dieter Moebius and Conrad Schnitzler. From 1969 to 1971 they recorded and released three albums, all in editions of 500 or less, all of which have since become highly sought after collectors' items, often fetching high prices. All three albums have since been reissued on CD in much larger quantities. Moebius and Roedelius left after their third album "Eruption", continuing under the name Cluster while Schnitzler retained the rights to the name. 

Recently work originally recorded by Schnitzler's later band Eruption in 1971-72 has been released under the Kluster name. The lineup on these albums included Klaus Freudigmann and Wolfgang Seidel. In addition, a six LP set of previously unreleased music by this lineup, from tapes found by Freudigmann, was released by Qbico in 2009.

In 2007 Schnitzler formed a new incarnation of Kluster with American Michael Thomas Roe and Japanese musician Masato Ooyama (Ooy). The new lineup released two multi-CD sets of new material.

Related Albums